FEATURE INTERVIEW WITH AUTHOR, DEREK CANTRELL!

This week I am featuring my fascinating Interview with the exceptionally talented Author, Derek Cantrell yet again. This novel is a must read for anyone who loves fiction. I, for one, could not put it down…I kid you not. Please feel free to Read this Interview & also feel free to purchase a copy of this incredible novel. You may find it at this website link:https://books.google.com/books/about/Nolen.html?id=E16g1SoiXAsC. Enjoy!

INTERVIEW QUESTIONS

When did you first decide to become a Writer/Author?

I have been interested in Journalism, in one form or another, since high school. I have always thought the idea of sharing various perspectives, to be an attractive career.

When did you first realize you had the talent capable of becoming an Author?

Writing this novel has shown me the amount of dedication and difficulty involved in accomplishing such things. The credit for the novel is not mine alone. I worked with artists, editors and a team of marketers, to produce my novel. Without their participation, the final manuscript would not be what it is today.

Whom or what has influenced your writings?

My biggest influence in writing my novel, is sociology. I find the science of human interaction intriguing. I am also influenced by evolutionary science and various current events.

What made you decide to write fiction?

I decided to write a fiction novel, but I’ll admit that I do not find various aspects of the novel to be fiction. I think society has various ailments that need to be addressed and while non-fiction literature can specifically point out these problems, fiction allows readers to see how these problems affect individuals in everyday life.

Do your writings excite or relax you? Or do your writings stir in you any particular feelings?

My writings provide me with an array of emotion, not only as I’m writing, but as I’m re-reading, or simply contemplating the content.

Are there any upcoming events you are planning to attend or intend to take part in?

There are several upcoming events I plan to partake in. I am an anti-war activist and have written several manuscripts that explain my perspectives. I sometimes distribute my literature at events such as “Occupy Wallstreet.”

Have you a favorite Author or novel you’d like to share with your readers?

My favorite author of all times is Sun Tzu, the author of “The Art of War.” The title suggests that the book is about barbaric conflict, but the actual content of the book is more about psychology.

Is there any other genre you’d like to try your hand at?

I have no intentions of writing anything other than fiction for now. Fiction gives me the opportunity to put my own perspectives and theories into practical situations, which is my primary inspiration for writing.

Do you have any particular inspiration(s) which may have caused you to specialize in fiction; especially with stories about vampires?

While the character of my book claims to be a “vampire,” a closer look reveals that his true nature is similar to that of society. He has a self-identity, aspirations and most importantly empathy. “Nolen The Beckoning” is somewhat of a prequel to the primary story-line, in whichNolen becomes aloof, non-empathetic, reserved and violent to society, as he feels victimized by the various actions that led to the climax of Nolen The Beckoning.

Is there anything else you would like to talk about? Or would you like to add anything else about your writings in this Interview?

More of my writing can be found at issuu.com under the author name “Nolen TwoHundred.”

Derek Cantrell’s, “NOLEN: THE BECKONING”, Fiction: 280 pages

Copyright information: iUniverse, Sep 26, 2011 
Front Cover“We have all heard of vampire. The legends vary and so do their abilities and weaknesses. Nolen is the first whose origin is explained scientifically. He is as real as any product of evolution, and like anyone, he struggles to survive the cruel and deceptive society of which we all find ourselves victim from time to time. Despite possessing the inhuman abilities of vampire, Nolen still finds himself fallen prey to betrayal and a tragic fate.”

Leave a Reply

